And The Heart Cried Out

English: a love heart in water
Photo credit: Wikipedia

 

“I have written poems
Keeping you in mind.
Your presence was not required.
All I had to do was just close my eyes.
Recalling the time I was most happy
It re-created you.

I hate you now for what you have done to me,
What you have turned me into.
I am bereft of love and miserable.

But I love you more…
And that is why,
I have safely tucked you
In a deep, dark wound.

A part of me couldn’t leave you.
And I cannot mourn
Your absence.
So I am left withering in agony.

I am scared to realize
What is causing this lingering pain,
For I cannot release myself
From the shackles of the past.

Even though someone else pines for me,
Beckons me to break free.
I cannot.

You have been an unattainable dream,
A too good to be true angel.
But now, you are the unattainable angel,
The too good to be true dream.

Gently caress me
And I shall turn into dust.
The wind will carry me away from you.”

2 Comments Add yours

  1. LilMissJoan says:

    I LOVE THIS POEM LIKE A THOUSAND LIKES!!!!
    It is everything it should be, simple, powerful and just really really touching.
    It’s like you wrote down my heart’s message.
    Thanks so much.
    I’m downloading and saving this to read a thousand times more (well maybe not that much) but really good job thank you thank you

    1. Iliena Bosu says:

      Thank you so much, LilMissJoan. This is an encouragement for me to write more. I hope you like my other writings as well.

      Love,

      Iliena

Leave a Reply

